How to Delete System Restore Points in Windows 11?

A system restore point is a useful function of Windows operating systems that allows you to revert your operating system to a previous working state if troubleshooting does not help you. Whatever the reason may be, if you are unable to fix the issues in your Windows 11, you can use a system restore point to quickly roll back the operating system to a previous functional state. This function works as a lifesaver, especially if troubleshooting Windows cannot solve the problems.

If you create system restore points time-to-time, you will not need to hire an expensive technician when your Windows OS is corrupt. Windows allows you to restore your computer to a previous working state if your PC is not even booting properly. This is the beauty of system restore points.

A single restore point may take around 0.6GB of space on your hard disk, so deleting all restore points is not recommended. However, if your computer is in a good state and running low on storage, you can consider deleting old Windows restore points to free up disk space.

In this growupwindows article, we will guide you on erasing a system restore point in Windows 11.

How to Erase a System Restore Point in Windows 11?

As mentioned above, deleting a system restore point in Windows 11 is not recommended. However, if you are running out of storage and want to remove a system restore point to free up disk space, use these steps:-

Step 1. First, open the Settings app.

To do that, use Windows + I shortcut keys on the keyboard.

Step 2. When the Settings window appears on your computer, click the System category on the left sidebar.

Step 3. On the right pane of the System, click the About tile.

Step 4. Next, click on the link System protection. This will open the “System Properties” window.

Step 5. When the “System Properties” window appears, switch to the System Protection tab.

Step 6. Then, select a drive from which you want to erase the system restore point and click the Configure button.

Step 7. In the following window, in the “Disk Space Usage” section, you will find the amount of storage used by your Windows beside “Current Usage.” If you want to free up whole storage, use the Delete button. This action will delete all restore points.

If you don’t want to delete all restore points but want to free up some of the storage, use the slider beside “Max Usage” and decrease the allocated size of system restore points. If necessary by Windows, it will automatically delete the old system restore point first.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: